Material Sourcing

The sourcing of fabrics and notions for the production of sustainable clothing is still pretty difficult as the number of suppliers has been increasing just lately. To provide a help with the often time-consuming research, we listed some relevant German and international sources for smaller or bigger orders, that we know about.

The range of products that are declared sustainable and ethical is quite small. This is why we try to present a wide selection. As always, everyone has to evaluate  the believability and the level of sustainability independently. So please stay critical, think for yourself and choose the right product for your ambitions!

 

LOCAL DEALERS AND ONLINE SHOPS FOR PRIVATE CUSTOMERS (B2C / + B2B)

Siebenblau (D) – GOTS audited and specialized trade shop for ecological and fair produced organic fabrics and fixings of different certification (GOTS, kbA, kbT,Fairtrade) in Berlin-Prenzlauer Berg, Germany, also available online: www.siebenblau.de

Nelly Morelly (D) – GOTS certified retail store in Leipzig, Germany and online shop for ecologically certified yardware: http://nelly-morelly.de/

Meterwerk (D) – organic fabrics and notions in the online shop and local store in Augsburg, Germany: www.meterwerk.de

Das Blaue Tuch (D) – online shop and retail shop for organic fabrics in Munich, Germany: www.dasblauetuch.com

Stoffbotin (D) – German online shop for organic fabrics and notions: www.stoffbotin.de

Seidentraum (D) – GOTS certified online shop for organic silk fibres as well as yardware and fashion products made of ecologically and fair traded silk or Ahimsa silk / Peace Silk (non-violent silk), B2B service available: http://www.seidentraum.biz

Anita Pavani Stoffe (D) – GOTS certified online shop for partly GOTS-certified designer fabrics made of natural materials like hemp, nettle, linen etc. & sewing supplies; controlled biological cultivation, probably B2B option: www.naturstoff.de

Offset Warehouse – ‘All you need to create beautiful ethical clothing and interiors’: www.offsetwarehouse.com

Bio Tissus – GOTS certified online store selling organic cotton fabrics as well as linen and flax fabrics domiciled in France: http://biotissus.com

Truecolours Textiles – specialized online shop for certified organic, socially produced and naturally dyed fabrics, with B2B option and a showroom in Amsterdam, Netherlands: http://truecolourstextiles.com

Organic Textile Company – UK based online shop for organic cotton and sustainable, fair traded fabrics from bamboo and linen, available in wholesale prices (B2B): http://www.organiccotton.biz/store/

Maison d’Edition A.C. – online shop for private as well as wholesale costumers (B2B) with a range of organic fabrics that are produced in France: www.lestrouvaillesdamandine.com

/

FOR COMPANIES / FASHION DESIGNERS / STUDENTS (B2B)

Interloom (D) – international online database platform for (co-) sourcing and selling sustainable fabrics based on ecological and fair principles: www.interloom.org

> great choice of different materials and colours

> minimum purchase: ≥ 1 m or higher, depends on supplier and prices depend on quantity

> collective orders possible

Lebenskleidung (D) – GOTS certified Berlin-based textile agency with focus on ecologically and fair produced cotton as well as silk and linen fabrics: www.lebenskleidung.com

> great choice of jerseys and basic cotton weaves in various colours

> minimum purchase: ≥ 1 m, prices depend on quantity

> collective orders possible

Ecological Textiles – Dutch webshop of fabrics, fibres, yarns and dyes that are manufactured and processed in a sustainable way: http://webshop.ecologicaltextiles.nl

> minimum purchase: around 5 m, depends on supplier

Le Souk – online marketplace for global direct and transparent industrial fabric and leather sourcing from the ‘the world’s finest mills & tanneries’ in a ‘trusted supplier network’; at first under Source4Style with only sustainable artisan fabrics, initiated by the committed ‘Eco’-Topmodel Summer Rayne Oakes: http://www.lesouk.co

> great choice of artisan textiles from various continents, partly produced according to fairtrade and ecological standards

> minimum purchase: ≥ 1 m or much higher, depends on supplier; be aware of high shipping costs depending on distances

> our research results of fair and sustainable textiles producers on Le Souk (COMING SOON)

C.L.A.S.S. (Creativity Lifestyle and Sustainable Synergy) – consulting service and multi-platform network that showcases innovative and sustainable textiles at showrooms in Milan, London, Copenhagen, Madrid and New York: www.classecohub.org

/

PRODUCERS OF TEXTILES AND NOTIONS

Cocccon (D) – GOTS audited German producer specialized in organic and non-violent silk fabrics, using traditional hand printing and embroidery techniques from India: www.cocccon.de

Elmer & Zweifel GmbH (D) – producer of IVN Best or GOTS certified cotton and linen woven fabric for eco-fair brands (B2B) with their own lifestyle brand Cotonea; Fair For Life certified, while the cotton originates from projects in Uganda and Kirgistan; also water-repellent twill available: www.cotonea.de or www.elmertex.de

Organic Linen Olga Charfreitag (D) – locally and ecologically produced linen fabrics and yarns: http://bio-leinen.de/leinenshop/produkt-kategorie/bio-stoffe

Organic Cotton Colours – socially and environmentally responsible Spanish manufacturer and producer of un-dyed organic cotton from Brazil for fabrics of different natural colours, available for private as well as wholesale customers (B2C + B2B), certified with GOTS for every phase of the production process: spinning, weaving, manufacture and distribution: www.organiccottoncolours.com or http://shop.organiccottoncolours.com

Cornish Organic Wool – company from Cornwall, UK that trades 100% organically produced, spun and hand dyed wool from Soil Associations accredited or OF&G (Organic Farmers & Growers Ltd) certified farmers, who are dedicated to the welfare of their sheep: www.cornishorganicwool.co.uk

Knopf Budke (D) – manufacturer of GOTS certified buttons of natural material and also custom-made production: www.knopf-budke.com

Hartmann Knöpfe (D) – German supplier who offers ‘eco-buttons’ made of  renewable natural materials like cellulose, lignin, resin and wax, 100% biodegradable and free of substances harmful for the environment: http://www.hartmann-knoepfe.de/Kollektion/Oeko-Knoepfe®%20/3008/ (D, ENG) bzw. http://www.hartmann-knoepfe.de/Presseberichte/FTT/4003/

YKK – offers NATULON® zippers made of recycled materials such as PET bottles or made from chemically recycled (post consumer) polyester as part of a ‘perpetual’ closed loop recycling program; also  natural coloured ‘organic cotton’ tapes are available, but only with 45% organic cotton next to at least 9% polyester, as well as conventional cotton tapes produced in Germany: www.ykkfastening.com

GOTS certified Scanfil sewing thread of organic cotton from Egypt produced by Forbitex International, available in different shops (s. above) and through www.forbitex.nl

BIMECO (D) – consultancy agency for purchasing suitable yarns, like GOTS and Fairtrade certified yarn, based on an ethical Code of Conduct according to the International Labour Organisation (ILO) Core Labour Standards: http://www.bimeco.eu

Johann Mueller AG – Swiss partner for yarn and fabric finishing – Cradle to Cradle, IVN Best and GOTS certified dyeing and manufacturing company, which also produces Sewing Yarn Natura made of 100% cellulosic fibers (Tencel® from Lenzing) or organic cotton, that has achieved Cradle to Cradle Certified™ GOLD: www.mueller-textil.ch or http://www.c2ccertified.org/products/scorecard/sewing-yarn-natura-johann-mueller-ag

Schoeller – Austrian spinning company that offers GOTS and IVN Best certified industrial knitting yarns from merino wool and cotton: http://www.schoeller-wool.com/Organic

Venne-Colcoton – Dutch René van der Venne produces as a global supplier next to other textile craft materials also GOTS certified cotton/linen yarns with the series name ‘Cottoline’ in various colours: www.vennecolcoton.com

/

TRADESHOWS

Future Fabrics Expo – annual event and virtual showcase that promotes innovative and commercially viable fibres, fabrics and products with sustainable values, presented by The Sustainable Angle in London, UK: http://www.thesustainableangle.org/future-fabrics/

/

MANUFACTURING FACILITIES

Good Garment Collective (D) – former Common Works – Berlin-based manufacturing agency for the production of clothing with in-house sample studio, which stands for transparent and sustainable production management: http://goodgarmentcollective.com

The government-funded project ‘Berlin Poland‘ offers various network activities for Polish production partners – more info on: http://berlinpoland.eu/berlin-poland-2016-2019/

/

FURTHER SOURCING DATABASES

Sourcebook – B2B network for fashion designers, textile craftspeople, suppliers and services of the fashion industry to realize textile projects and productions in cooperation, initiated by NEMONA placement: https://sourcebook.eu

Ethical Fashion Source Database – worldwide database of ethical fashion businesses and resources with a directory that lists suppliers of fair trade, ethical, organic fabrics, components and manufacturing services: www.ethicalfashionforum.com/source-directory/

/

If you have further recommendation which suppliers to put on this list, we are looking forward to your email!

/

Materialbeschaffung

Die Beschaffung von Stoffen und Zutaten für die Produktion nachhaltiger Bekleidung gestaltet sich noch relativ schwierig, da die Angebote gerade erst anwachsen. Zur Erleichterung der oft zeitaufwändigen Recherche präsentieren wir hier relevante deutsche und internationale Quellen für große und/oder kleine Einkäufe, die uns bekannt sind.

Da die Auswahl an als nachhaltig deklarierter Ware so gering ist, haben wir hier möglichst viel gesammelt. Die Einschätzung über den Grad der Nachhaltigkeit und der ethischen Vertretbarkeit liegt, wie immer, auch im Auge des Betrachters – also bleibt bitte kritisch, hinterfragt und findet so am Ende euer gewünschtes Produkt.

 

FACHHANDEL UND ONLINESHOPS FÜR PRIVATKUNDEN (B2C / OPTIONAL B2B)

Siebenblau (D) – GOTS geprüfter Fachhandel für ökologisch und fair produzierte Bio Stoffe und Zubehör verschiedener Zertifizierung (GOTS, kbA, kbT,Fairtrade) in Berlin-Prenzlauer Berg und als Onlineshop: www.siebenblau.de

Nelly Morelly (D) – GOTS geprüftes Ladengeschäft in Leipzig und Onlineshop für ökologische zertifizierte Meterware: http://nelly-morelly.de/

Meterwerk (D) – Bio Stoffe und Zubehör im Onlineshop und Ladengeschäft in Augsburgwww.meterwerk.de

Das Blaue Tuch (D) – Ladengeschäft und Onlineshop für Bio Stoffe aus München: www.dasblauetuch.com

Stoffbotin (D) – Onlineshop für biologische Stoffe und Zubehör: www.stoffbotin.de

Seidentraum (D) – GOTS geprüfter Onlineshop für Bio Seidenfasern sowie Meterware und Modeprodukte aus ökologisch und fair gehandelter Seide oder Ahimsa Seide bzw. Peace Silk (gewaltfreie Seide), auch mit B2B Service: www.seidentraum.biz

Offset Warehouse – ‚Alles was man braucht, um schöne ethische Bekleidung herzustellen‘: www.offsetwarehouse.com

Bio Tissus – GOTS zertifizierter Onlineshop für biologische Baumwollstoffe sowie Leinen- und Flachsstoffe mit Sitz in Frankreich: http://biotissus.com

Truecolours Textiles – ein Onlineshop spezialisiert auf zertifizierte biologische, sozial produzierte und natürlich gefärbte Stoffe, mit Option auf B2B und einem Showroom in Amsterdam, Niederlandehttp://truecolourstextiles.com

Organic Textile Company – Onlineshop aus England für Bio Baumwolle und nachhaltige, fair produzierte Stoffe aus Bambus und Leinen; auch zu Großhandelspreisen erhältlich (B2B): http://www.organiccotton.biz/store/

Maison d’Edition A.C. – Onlineshop für Privat- und Großkunden (B2B) mit einer Reihe von Bio Stoffen, die in Frankreich produziert werden: www.lestrouvaillesdamandine.com

FÜR UNTERNEHMEN / MODEDESIGNER / STUDENTEN (B2B)

Interloom (D) – internationale B2B Online-Datenbank-Plattform für die (gemeinschaftliche) Beschaffung und den Verkauf von nachhaltigen Stoffen nach ökologischen und fairen Prinzipien: www.interloom.org

> Große Auswahl an verschiedenen Materialien und Farben

> Mindestabnahme: ≥ 1 m oder mehr, hängt von Lieferanten ab und Preise hängen von der Bestellmenge ab

> Sammelbestellungen möglich

Lebenskleidung (D) – nach dem  Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS) zertifizierte Berliner Textilagentur mit Schwerpunkt auf ökologisch korrekten und fair produzierten Baumwoll- sowie Seiden- und Leinenstoffen: www.lebenskleidung.com

> Große Auswahl an Jerseys und einfachen Baumwollstoffen in verschiedenen Farben

> Mindestabnahme: ≥ 1 m, Preise hängen von der Bestellmenge ab

> Sammelbestellungen möglich

Ecological Textiles – Niederländischer Onlinehändler von Stoffen, Fasern, Garnen und Färbeartikeln, die nachhaltig hergestellt und vertrieben werden: http://webshop.ecologicaltextiles.nl

> Mindestabnahme: um die 5 m, hängt von Lieferanten ab

Le Souk – Onlinemarktplatz für die globale, direkte und transparente industrielle Beschaffung von Stoffen und Leder der ‚zuverlässigsten und erlesensten Fabriken und Gerbereien der Welt‘; anfangs unter Source4Style ausschließlich nachhaltige und handwerklich hergestellte Stoffe, initiiert vom engagierten ‚Öko‘-Topmodel Summer Rayne Oakes: http://www.lesouk.co

> Große Auswahl an kunsthandwerklichen Textilien aus verschiedensten Kontinenten, teils nach fairen und ökologischen Standards produziert

> Mindestabnahme: ≥ 1 m oder viel mehr, hängt von Lieferanten ab; hohe Versandkosten je nach Distanzen

> Unsere Rechercheergebnisse von fairen und nachhaltigen Textilproduzenten auf Le Souk (COMING SOON)

C.L.A.S.S. (Creativity Lifestyle and Sustainable Synergy) – Agentur mit vielfältigem Beratungsangebot und plattformübergreifendes Netzwerk zur Vermittlung von innovativen und nachhaltigen Textilien, u.a. auf Messen in Mailand, London, Kopenhagen, Madrid und New York: www.classecohub.org

BIMECO Garnhandel (D) – Beratungsunternehmen und Anbieter von hochwertigen Industriegarnen, u.a. GOTS und Fairtrade zertifiziertes Garn, mit ethischem Verhaltenskodex (Code of Conduct), basierend auf den Vorgaben der Kernarbeitsnormen der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation (ILO): http://www.bimeco.eu

PRODUZENTEN VON TEXTILIEN UND ZUTATEN

Cocccon (D) – GOTS zertifiziertes deutsches Unternehmen, u.a. spezialisiert auf biologisch und gewaltfrei erzeugte Seidenstoffe, in Handarbeit traditionell bedruckt und bestickt in Indien: www.cocccon.de

Organic Cotton Colours – sozial- und umweltbewusster spanischer Produktionsbetrieb, der ungefärbte Bio Baumwolle aus Brasilien für Stoffe verschiedener natürlicher Farben verwendet, für Privat- und Großkunden (B2C + B2B), ausgezeichnet mit GOTS Zertifikat für jeden Schritt des Produktionsprozesses: Spinnen, Weben, Textilfabrikation und Verkauf: www.organiccottoncolours.com bzw. http://shop.organiccottoncolours.com

Cornish Organic Wool – Firma aus Cornwall, UK, die mit 100% biologisch produzierter, gesponnener und hand-gefärbter Wolle handelt, die zum Wohl der Schafe nach Standards von Soil Associations oder OF&G zertifiziert ist: www.cornishorganicwool.co.uk

Knopf Budke (D) – ein Hersteller von GOTS zertifizierten Naturknöpfen und auch kundenspezifischen Anfertigungen: www.knopf-budke.com

Hartmann Knöpfe (D) – bietet ‚Öko-Knöpfe‘ an, die aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen wie Zellulose, Lignin, Harzen und Wachsen pflanzlichen Ursprungs hergestellt sind, 100% biologisch abbaubar und frei von umweltbelastenden Schadstoffen: http://www.hartmann-knoepfe.de/Kollektion/Oeko-Knoepfe®%20/3008/ (D, ENG) bzw. http://www.hartmann-knoepfe.de/Presseberichte/FTT/4003/

YKK – bietet NATULON® Reißverschlüsse an, die aus recycelten Materialien wie PET Flaschen bestehen oder aus chemisch recycelten (Post-Konsumenten-) Polyester gemacht sind als Teil eines ‚fortwährend‘ geschlossenen Recyclingkreislaufs; auch naturfarbende ‚Bio Baumwoll‘- Bänder (aus nur 45% Bio Baumwolle, nebst mindestens 9% Polyester) sind erhältlich sowie konventionelle Baumwollbänder, die in Deutschland produziert werden: www.ykkfastening.com

GOTS zertifiziertes Scanfil-Nähgarn aus Bio Baumwolle aus Ägypten von der niederländischen Firma Forbitex International, verfügbar in verschiedenen Läden (s.o.) bzw. für Händler über www.forbitex.nl

Johann Mueller AG – Schweizer Partner für Garn- und Tricotveredlung – Cradle to Cradle, IVN Best und GOTS zertifizierter Färbe- und Produktionsbetrieb, der auch Natura Nähgarn zu 100% aus Zellulosefasern (Tencel® von Lenzing) oder Bio Baumwolle herstellt, das mit dem Cradle to Cradle GOLD Zertifikat ausgezeichnet wurde: www.mueller-textil.ch bzw. http://www.c2ccertified.org/products/scorecard/sewing-yarn-natura-johann-mueller-ag

Schoeller – Österreichische Spinnerei, die GOTS und IVN Best zertifizierte Maschinenstrickgarne aus Merino-Wolle und Baumwolle anbietet: http://www.schoeller-wool.com/Organic

Venne-Colcoton – Holländer René van der Venne produziert neben anderen textilhandwerklichen Materialien auch GOTS zertifizierte Baumwoll/Leinen Garne in der Serie ‚Cottoline‘ und in verschiedenen Farben: www.vennecolcoton.com

MESSEN

Future Fabrics Expo – jährlich stattfindendes Event und virtuelles Angebot, das innovative und kommerziell verwendbare Fasern, Stoffe und Produkte mit nachhaltigen Werten vorstellt, präsentiert von The Sustainable Angle in London, UK: http://www.thesustainableangle.org/future-fabrics/

PRODUKTIONSSTÄTTEN

Good Garment Collective (D) – früher Common Works – Berliner Produktionsagentur für die Bekleidungsindustrie mit eigenem Musteratelier, die für transparente und nachhaltige Produktionsprozesse steht: http://goodgarmentcollective.com

Das vom Berliner Senat und der EU geförderte Projekt ‚Berlin Poland‘ geht in eine neue Runde. Für 2016-2019 zielt es auf die Weiterentwicklung eines grenzüberschreitenden Netzwerks für die Design- und Modewirtschaft und Unternehmen durch verschiedene Aktivitäten und Schwerpunkte. Aktuelle Informationen: http://berlinpoland.eu/berlin-poland-2016-2019/
Bereits 2011-2014 wurde Berliner Unternehmen eine kostenlose Recherche polnischer Produktionspartner für Konsum- und Investitionsgüter angeboten. Die Erfolge der Vermittlung wurden in einer Publikation festgehalten: http://www.idz.de/dokumente/Berlin_Poland_deutsch_screen.pdf

WEITERE DATENBANKEN FÜR DIE RECHERCHE

Sourcebook – B2B Netzwerk für Modemacher, Textilhandwerker, Zulieferer und Dienstleister der Modebranche, um Textilprojekte und -produktionen gemeinsam umzusetzen, ursprünglich initiiert von dem EU-geförderten Projekt NEMONA placement im Auftrag von Inpolis als Professionalisierungsplattform für die (Berliner) Textilwirtschaft: https://sourcebook.eu

Ethical Fashion Source Database – weltweite Datenbank mit ethischen Modeunternehmen und Ressourcen, aufgelistet in einem Verzeichnis zusammen mit Lieferanten, Fairtrade und/oder Bio Stoffen, weiteren Komponenten und Produktionsangeboten: www.ethicalfashionforum.com/source-directory/

 

Wenn ihr noch Vorschläge zur Erweiterung der Liste habt, freuen wir uns über eure Email an info@aethic.de!